Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
18

ISLAND - Live Performance Video

Celebrating the anniversary of Blend Volume Two!
18

Nine years ago today, Elaine Summers and I released the second Droge & Summers Blend EP. The five-song collection was aptly titled Volume Two. To celebrate the anniversary, here we are in our living room performing “Island.”

And next week we’ll release an outtake from the Blend sessions called “Only Have Eyes.” Paid subscribers can stream and/or download an advance copy of the song now by visiting this post HERE.

Elaine and I wrote “Island” as a love song to Vashon Island, the place we’ve called home since Halloween of 1995. Here are the lyrics in case you want to sing along:

Feel the earth under feet
On an island
There’s way more dirt than concrete
On an island
There’s always an end to the street
On an island
The shore is always in reach
On an island

The air is salty and sweet
On an island
You never get a better night’s sleep
On an island
You know still waters run deep
On an island
There’s plenty of secrets to keep
On an island

Gives me something I can hold onto
Gives me something they can’t take away

Everything will be okay
On an island
I keep trouble at bay
On an island
I’m just far enough away
On an island
It’s clear that I’m gonna stay
On an island

Spend the rest of my days
On an island
Among the mist and the haze
On an island
There’s never any need to complain
On an island
You gotta take a boat or a plane
To my island

Gives me something I can hold onto
Gives me something they can’t take away

Ooh.. island
Ooh.. island
Ooh.. island
Ooh.. island

Peace & Love Songs,

Pete

18 Comments
Love Songs Etc
Love Songs Etc
Authors
Pete Droge